Thank you Karen . . .

 

it matters not the way things seem to be
howling, hungry wolves beckon at our door
take a chance, be someone different today
open that door, watch yourself coming back

pick what face you’ll wear right off the shelf
do your thing, matters not in the grand scheme
a growing ice cube for a beating heart
that sweet smile doesn’t get you very far

I have cried when I was happy
I have laughed when I was sad
bring on the teary-faced clowns
under the big tent scarcely clad

is it this road I should take; maybe not
I’m off course, cannot find my compass
a rusty tangled heart is all I own
I’ve walked through far too many doors

standing ‘neath strings of naked light bulbs
from which all kindness has been drained
chanting like a medieval housewife
with forked tail beneath cloven-hoofed legs

abandoned and denied
an Edgar Allen kind of day
clouds are growing inside
let them stay or chase away

for the right reasons I do wrong things
there’s always yesterday in my eyes
looked under my bed and was surprised
saw my life on the head of a pin

a ménage à trios that never ends
Louisiana two-step with Zydeco
leave guilt and worry on the dance floor
live large, be happy, blues know your place

I have cried when I was happy
I have laughed when I was sad
bring on the teary-faced clowns
under the big tent scarcely clad

©December 7, 2010 / Jerry Pat Bolton

